Social Economic Profile

Kilimanjaro Region is one of Tanzania’s 31 administrative regions , located on the North Eastern part of mainland Tanzania, just south of the equator (2 25‟and 4 15‟S; 36 25‟and 38 18‟00” E) and it covers an area of 13,209km2. The region is bordered to the north and east by Kenya, to the south by the Tanga Region, to the southwest by the Manyara Region, and to the west by the Arusha 

The Administrative Districts of Kilimanjaro

It is among the small regions in Tanzania which comprise about seven districts namely Rombo, Same, Mwanga, Hai, Moshi Rural, Moshi Urban and Siha. The regional capital is the municipality of Moshi. According to the 2012 national census, the region had a population of 1,640,087, which was lower than the pre-census projection of 1,702,207. For 2002-2012, the region’s 1.8 percent average annual population growth rate was the 24th highest in the country. It was also the eighth most densely populated region with 124 people per square kilometre. The region is home to a portion of Kilimanjaro National Park